AltRx starts at $89/mo (all-in, includes medication); Sprout at $149/mo (all-in, includes medication). Both prescribe GLP-1 medication — AltRx offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide, Sprout compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide. Here's how they compare on price, medications, support and transparency.
Bottom line: AltRx wins
AltRx wins on our rubric, 8.2/10 to 7.7/10. It leads most on value. Choose Sprout instead if clearly posted, no-surprises pricing matters most to you.
Round by round
We scored both programs on the four factors in our methodology — value, support, medications and transparency. AltRx takes 3, Sprout takes 1. Here's how each shook out.
Value
What you get for the price — not just the lowest sticker. A premium program that includes FDA-approved medication, insurance help and real support can be good value. AltRx scores 9.4 to 7.8 — clearly ahead.
Support
Real clinician access, coaching and follow-up — video visits and a care team score higher than async-only. AltRx scores 8.7 to 7.4 — clearly ahead.
Medications
Medication options and legitimacy — FDA-approved branded (Wegovy, Zepbound) rates above compounded-only, and breadth and flexibility add points. AltRx scores 8.8 to 8.4 — ahead.
Transparency
How clearly and publicly pricing, terms and availability are stated — plus track record and any regulatory red flags. Sprout scores 7.4 to 6.6 — clearly ahead.
Where they differ most
The clearest daylight is in value, where AltRx leads 9.4 to 7.8 and support, where AltRx leads 8.7 to 7.4. On price, AltRx starts lower ($89 vs $149 per month).
Pricing: AltRx vs Sprout
AltRx has the lower advertised starting price — $89/mo vs $149/mo for Sprout. But read the fine print: AltRx is all-in, includes medication and Sprout is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline. We unpack how these plans are structured in how much compounded semaglutide costs.
AltRx: The $89/mo promo (semaglutide; tirzepatide from $149/mo) ran through Sep 5, 2026 and has ended; current standard pricing is not clearly published — confirm at checkout (as of Sep 2026, altrx.com). Sprout: Intro starting rate; ongoing ~$249/mo (semaglutide) / ~$299/mo (tirzepatide) (as of Sep 2026, health.usnews.com).
The specs, side by side
| AltRx | Sprout | |
|---|---|---|
| Editor rating | 8.2/10 · Very good | 7.7/10 · Good |
| Starting price | $89/mo | $149/mo |
| Pricing | All-in, includes medication | All-in, includes medication |
| Medications | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide |
| Medication form | Weekly injection | Weekly injection |
| Visit type | Async, video when needed | Async questionnaire + monthly check-ins |
| Insurance | Cash-pay | Cash-pay |
| Availability | Not stated | Nationwide (excl. AL, AR, CA, LA, MS, ND) |
Which should you pick?
Common questions
Is AltRx better than Sprout?
In our scoring AltRx comes out ahead — 8.2/10 to 7.7/10, leading on value. It's our pick for most people; Sprout is the better choice if clearly posted, no-surprises pricing matters most to you.
Which is cheaper, AltRx or Sprout?
AltRx has the lower advertised starting price — $89/mo vs $149/mo for Sprout. But read the fine print: AltRx is all-in, includes medication and Sprout is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline.
Do AltRx and Sprout prescribe the same medications?
AltRx offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (weekly injection); Sprout offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (weekly injection). On breadth of options, AltRx scores higher. Compounded GLP-1s aren't FDA-approved finished products, and availability shifts — confirm current options with each provider.
Which gives you more support, AltRx or Sprout?
AltRx scores higher on support — real clinician access, coaching and follow-up. For visits, AltRx is async, video when needed and Sprout is async questionnaire + monthly check-ins.
Are AltRx and Sprout legit?
Both require a licensed clinician to review your intake before prescribing. Confirm each provider's credentials, state availability (AltRx: not stated; Sprout: nationwide (excl. al, ar, ca, la, ms, nd)) and current pricing before you sign up — and note that compounded medications aren't FDA-approved.
Can I switch between AltRx and Sprout?
Generally yes — neither locks you into a long contract, though the lowest prices often require a prepaid plan. Never stop or change a GLP-1 medication without talking to your clinician first.
Both programs are scored with the same independent methodology. We may earn a commission from either provider — it changes nothing about the scores or the verdict. Prices are advertised starting rates as of October 2026; confirm current pricing with each provider. Nothing here is medical advice.