embody starts at $69/mo (all-in, includes medication); AltRx at $89/mo (all-in, includes medication). Both prescribe GLP-1 medication — embody offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide, AltRx compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide. Here's how they compare on price, medications, support and transparency.
Bottom line: embody wins
embody wins on our rubric, 9.3/10 to 9.2/10. It leads most on medications. Choose AltRx instead if you want the lowest entry price and are comfortable self-managing.
Round by round
We scored both programs on the four factors in our methodology — value, support, medications and transparency. embody takes 1, AltRx takes 0, with 3 even. Here's how each shook out.
Value
What you get for the price — not just the lowest sticker. A premium program that includes FDA-approved medication, insurance help and real support can be good value. Evenly matched at about 9.7.
Support
Real clinician access, coaching and follow-up — video visits and a care team score higher than async-only. Evenly matched at about 9.3.
Medications
Medication options and legitimacy — FDA-approved branded (Wegovy, Zepbound) rates above compounded-only, and breadth and flexibility add points. embody scores 9.6 to 9.4 — just ahead.
Transparency
How clearly and publicly pricing, terms and availability are stated — plus track record and any regulatory red flags. Evenly matched at about 8.7.
Where they differ most
The gaps are incremental rather than dramatic. On price, embody starts lower ($69 vs $89 per month).
Pricing: embody vs AltRx
embody has the lower advertised starting price — $69/mo vs $89/mo for AltRx. But read the fine print: embody is all-in, includes medication and AltRx is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline. We unpack how these plans are structured in how much compounded semaglutide costs.
embody: All-in and typically ~$79–$129/mo depending on plan length and medication; promo rates from ~$69/mo to start (as of Jul 2026, exploretreatments.com). AltRx: The $89/mo promo (semaglutide; tirzepatide from $149/mo) ran through Sep 5, 2026 and has ended; current standard pricing is not clearly published — confirm at checkout (as of Sep 2026, altrx.com).
The specs, side by side
| embody | AltRx | |
|---|---|---|
| Editor rating | 9.3/10 · Excellent | 9.2/10 · Excellent |
| Starting price | $69/mo | $89/mo |
| Pricing | All-in, includes medication | All-in, includes medication |
| Medications | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide |
| Medication form | Weekly injection or daily oral | Weekly injection |
| Visit type | Clinician-reviewed telehealth | Async, video when needed |
| Insurance | Cash-pay (HSA/FSA) | Cash-pay |
| Availability | Not stated | Not stated |
Which should you pick?
Choose embody if…
You want clinician access and coaching, and will pay a bit more for it.
View embody plans →Choose AltRx if…
You want the lowest entry price and are comfortable self-managing.
View AltRx plans →Common questions
Is embody better than AltRx?
In our scoring embody comes out ahead — 9.3/10 to 9.2/10, leading on medications. It's our pick for most people; AltRx is the better choice if you want the lowest entry price and are comfortable self-managing.
Which is cheaper, embody or AltRx?
embody has the lower advertised starting price — $69/mo vs $89/mo for AltRx. But read the fine print: embody is all-in, includes medication and AltRx is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline.
Do embody and AltRx prescribe the same medications?
embody offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (weekly injection or daily oral); AltRx offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (weekly injection). On breadth of options, embody scores higher. Compounded GLP-1s aren't FDA-approved finished products, and availability shifts — confirm current options with each provider.
Which gives you more support, embody or AltRx?
embody scores higher on support — real clinician access, coaching and follow-up. For visits, embody is clinician-reviewed telehealth and AltRx is async, video when needed.
Are embody and AltRx legit?
Both require a licensed clinician to review your intake before prescribing. Confirm each provider's credentials, state availability (embody: not stated; AltRx: not stated) and current pricing before you sign up — and note that compounded medications aren't FDA-approved.
Can I switch between embody and AltRx?
Generally yes — neither locks you into a long contract, though the lowest prices often require a prepaid plan. Never stop or change a GLP-1 medication without talking to your clinician first.
Both programs are scored with the same independent methodology. We may earn a commission from either provider — it changes nothing about the scores or the verdict. Prices are advertised starting rates as of October 2026; confirm current pricing with each provider. Nothing here is medical advice.