AltRx starts at $89/mo (all-in, includes medication); TrimRx at $179/mo (all-in, includes medication). Both prescribe GLP-1 medication — AltRx offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide, TrimRx compounded + branded options. Here's how they compare on price, medications, support and transparency.
Bottom line: AltRx wins
AltRx wins on our rubric, 8.2/10 to 7.6/10. It leads most on support. Choose TrimRx instead if you specifically want tirzepatide with titration guidance.
Round by round
We scored both programs on the four factors in our methodology — value, support, medications and transparency. AltRx takes 2, TrimRx takes 2. Here's how each shook out.
Value
What you get for the price — not just the lowest sticker. A premium program that includes FDA-approved medication, insurance help and real support can be good value. AltRx scores 9.4 to 7.8 — clearly ahead.
Support
Real clinician access, coaching and follow-up — video visits and a care team score higher than async-only. AltRx scores 8.7 to 6.8 — clearly ahead.
Medications
Medication options and legitimacy — FDA-approved branded (Wegovy, Zepbound) rates above compounded-only, and breadth and flexibility add points. TrimRx scores 9.0 to 8.8 — just ahead.
Transparency
How clearly and publicly pricing, terms and availability are stated — plus track record and any regulatory red flags. TrimRx scores 7.0 to 6.6 — ahead.
Where they differ most
The clearest daylight is in support, where AltRx leads 8.7 to 6.8 and value, where AltRx leads 9.4 to 7.8. On price, AltRx starts lower ($89 vs $179 per month).
Pricing: AltRx vs TrimRx
AltRx has the lower advertised starting price — $89/mo vs $179/mo for TrimRx. But read the fine print: AltRx is all-in, includes medication and TrimRx is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline. We unpack how these plans are structured in how much compounded semaglutide costs.
AltRx: Promo starting rate (semaglutide); tirzepatide from $149/mo; post-promo pricing undisclosed (as of Sep 2026, altrx.com). TrimRx: Advertised 'from $179/mo'; semaglutide ~$199–$349/mo by plan length; branded far higher (as of Aug 2026, health.usnews.com).
The specs, side by side
| AltRx | TrimRx | |
|---|---|---|
| Editor rating | 8.2/10 · Very good | 7.6/10 · Good |
| Starting price | $89/mo | $179/mo |
| Pricing | All-in, includes medication | All-in, includes medication |
| Medications | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide | Compounded + branded options |
| Medication form | Weekly injection | Weekly injection |
| Visit type | Async, video when needed | Async questionnaire (limited coaching) |
| Insurance | Cash-pay | Cash-pay (HSA/FSA) |
| Availability | Not stated | Most US states |
Which should you pick?
Common questions
Is AltRx better than TrimRx?
In our scoring AltRx comes out ahead — 8.2/10 to 7.6/10, leading on support. It's our pick for most people; TrimRx is the better choice if you specifically want tirzepatide with titration guidance.
Which is cheaper, AltRx or TrimRx?
AltRx has the lower advertised starting price — $89/mo vs $179/mo for TrimRx. But read the fine print: AltRx is all-in, includes medication and TrimRx is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline.
Do AltRx and TrimRx prescribe the same medications?
AltRx offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (weekly injection); TrimRx offers compounded + branded options (weekly injection). On breadth of options, TrimRx scores higher. Compounded GLP-1s aren't FDA-approved finished products, and availability shifts — confirm current options with each provider.
Which gives you more support, AltRx or TrimRx?
AltRx scores higher on support — real clinician access, coaching and follow-up. For visits, AltRx is async, video when needed and TrimRx is async questionnaire (limited coaching).
Are AltRx and TrimRx legit?
Both require a licensed clinician to review your intake before prescribing. Confirm each provider's credentials, state availability (AltRx: not stated; TrimRx: most us states) and current pricing before you sign up — and note that compounded medications aren't FDA-approved.
Can I switch between AltRx and TrimRx?
Generally yes — neither locks you into a long contract, though the lowest prices often require a prepaid plan. Never stop or change a GLP-1 medication without talking to your clinician first.
Both programs are scored with the same independent methodology. We may earn a commission from either provider — it changes nothing about the scores or the verdict. Prices are advertised starting rates as of September 2026; confirm current pricing with each provider. Nothing here is medical advice.