embody starts at $69/mo (all-in, includes medication); ro at $39/mo (membership + medication (billed separately)). Both prescribe GLP-1 medication — embody offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide, ro wegovy, zepbound, ozempic & foundaya. Here's how they compare on price, medications, support and transparency.
Bottom line: ro wins
ro wins on our rubric, 9.1/10 to 8.5/10. It leads most on transparency. Choose embody instead if you want continuous coaching and a plan that adapts month to month.
Round by round
We scored both programs on the four factors in our methodology — value, support, medications and transparency. embody takes 1, ro takes 2, with 1 even. Here's how each shook out.
Value
What you get for the price — not just the lowest sticker. A premium program that includes FDA-approved medication, insurance help and real support can be good value. embody scores 9.4 to 8.2 — clearly ahead.
Support
Real clinician access, coaching and follow-up — video visits and a care team score higher than async-only. ro scores 9.0 to 8.7 — ahead.
Medications
Medication options and legitimacy — FDA-approved branded (Wegovy, Zepbound) rates above compounded-only, and breadth and flexibility add points. Evenly matched at about 9.2.
Transparency
How clearly and publicly pricing, terms and availability are stated — plus track record and any regulatory red flags. ro scores 9.5 to 7.4 — clearly ahead.
Where they differ most
The clearest daylight is in transparency, where ro leads 9.5 to 7.4 and value, where embody leads 9.4 to 8.2. On price, ro starts lower ($39 vs $69 per month).
Pricing: embody vs ro
ro has the lower advertised starting price — $39/mo vs $69/mo for embody. But read the fine print: embody is all-in, includes medication and ro is membership + medication (billed separately), and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline. We unpack how these plans are structured in how much compounded semaglutide costs.
embody: Promo starting rate; ~$299/mo at standard/maintenance dosing (as of Jul 2026, exploretreatments.com). ro: Start for $39 (first month), then $149/mo — or save up to 50% on an annual plan (~$74/mo); branded medication billed separately from $149/mo, and insurance can bring covered members far lower (as of Sep 2026, ro.co).
The specs, side by side
| embody | ro | |
|---|---|---|
| Editor rating | 8.5/10 · Great | 9.1/10 · Excellent |
| Starting price | $69/mo | $39/mo |
| Pricing | All-in, includes medication | Membership + medication (billed separately) |
| Medications | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide | Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic & Foundaya |
| Medication form | Weekly injection or daily oral | Oral pill or injection pen |
| Visit type | Clinician-reviewed telehealth | Async + optional video |
| Insurance | Cash-pay (HSA/FSA) | Dedicated insurance concierge |
| Availability | Not stated | Nationwide |
Which should you pick?
Choose embody if…
You want continuous coaching and a plan that adapts month to month.
View embody plans →Common questions
Is embody better than ro?
In our scoring ro comes out ahead — 9.1/10 to 8.5/10, leading on transparency. It's our pick for most people; embody is the better choice if you want continuous coaching and a plan that adapts month to month.
Which is cheaper, embody or ro?
ro has the lower advertised starting price — $39/mo vs $69/mo for embody. But read the fine print: embody is all-in, includes medication and ro is membership + medication (billed separately), and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline.
Do embody and ro prescribe the same medications?
embody offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (weekly injection or daily oral); ro offers wegovy, zepbound, ozempic & foundaya (oral pill or injection pen). On breadth of options, ro scores higher. Compounded GLP-1s aren't FDA-approved finished products, and availability shifts — confirm current options with each provider.
Which gives you more support, embody or ro?
ro scores higher on support — real clinician access, coaching and follow-up. For visits, embody is clinician-reviewed telehealth and ro is async + optional video.
Are embody and ro legit?
Both require a licensed clinician to review your intake before prescribing. Confirm each provider's credentials, state availability (embody: not stated; ro: nationwide) and current pricing before you sign up — and note that compounded medications aren't FDA-approved.
Can I switch between embody and ro?
Generally yes — neither locks you into a long contract, though the lowest prices often require a prepaid plan. Never stop or change a GLP-1 medication without talking to your clinician first.
Both programs are scored with the same independent methodology. We may earn a commission from either provider — it changes nothing about the scores or the verdict. Prices are advertised starting rates as of September 2026; confirm current pricing with each provider. Nothing here is medical advice.