AltRx starts at $89/mo (all-in, includes medication); WellMedr at $49/mo (all-in, includes medication). Both prescribe GLP-1 medication — AltRx offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide, WellMedr compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide. Here's how they compare on price, medications, support and transparency.
Bottom line: AltRx wins
AltRx wins on our rubric, 8.2/10 to 7.9/10. It leads most on support. Choose WellMedr instead if you want the lower entry price — $49/mo vs $89/mo.
Round by round
We scored both programs on the four factors in our methodology — value, support, medications and transparency. AltRx takes 2, WellMedr takes 1, with 1 even. Here's how each shook out.
Value
What you get for the price — not just the lowest sticker. A premium program that includes FDA-approved medication, insurance help and real support can be good value. Evenly matched at about 9.4.
Support
Real clinician access, coaching and follow-up — video visits and a care team score higher than async-only. AltRx scores 8.7 to 7.8 — clearly ahead.
Medications
Medication options and legitimacy — FDA-approved branded (Wegovy, Zepbound) rates above compounded-only, and breadth and flexibility add points. AltRx scores 8.8 to 8.4 — ahead.
Transparency
How clearly and publicly pricing, terms and availability are stated — plus track record and any regulatory red flags. WellMedr scores 6.8 to 6.6 — just ahead.
Where they differ most
The clearest daylight is in support, where AltRx leads 8.7 to 7.8 and medications, where AltRx leads 8.8 to 8.4. On price, WellMedr starts lower ($49 vs $89 per month).
Pricing: AltRx vs WellMedr
WellMedr has the lower advertised starting price — $49/mo vs $89/mo for AltRx. But read the fine print: AltRx is all-in, includes medication and WellMedr is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline. We unpack how these plans are structured in how much compounded semaglutide costs.
AltRx: The $89/mo promo (semaglutide; tirzepatide from $149/mo) ran through Sep 5, 2026 and has ended; current standard pricing is not clearly published — confirm at checkout (as of Sep 2026, altrx.com). WellMedr: Lowest rate on 12-month prepay; month-to-month advertised at $88/mo; tirzepatide from ~$89/mo (as of Sep 2026, exploretreatments.com).
The specs, side by side
| AltRx | WellMedr | |
|---|---|---|
| Editor rating | 8.2/10 · Very good | 7.9/10 · Good |
| Starting price | $89/mo | $49/mo |
| Pricing | All-in, includes medication | All-in, includes medication |
| Medications | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide |
| Medication form | Weekly injection | Weekly injection |
| Visit type | Async, video when needed | Async intake + video/messaging |
| Insurance | Cash-pay | Cash-pay |
| Availability | Not stated | All 50 states |
Which should you pick?
Choose AltRx if…
You want stronger clinical support — more clinician time, coaching and follow-up.
View AltRx plans →Common questions
Is AltRx better than WellMedr?
In our scoring AltRx comes out ahead — 8.2/10 to 7.9/10, leading on support. It's our pick for most people; WellMedr is the better choice if you want the lower entry price — $49/mo vs $89/mo.
Which is cheaper, AltRx or WellMedr?
WellMedr has the lower advertised starting price — $49/mo vs $89/mo for AltRx. But read the fine print: AltRx is all-in, includes medication and WellMedr is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline.
Do AltRx and WellMedr prescribe the same medications?
AltRx offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (weekly injection); WellMedr offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (weekly injection). On breadth of options, AltRx scores higher. Compounded GLP-1s aren't FDA-approved finished products, and availability shifts — confirm current options with each provider.
Which gives you more support, AltRx or WellMedr?
AltRx scores higher on support — real clinician access, coaching and follow-up. For visits, AltRx is async, video when needed and WellMedr is async intake + video/messaging.
Are AltRx and WellMedr legit?
Both require a licensed clinician to review your intake before prescribing. Confirm each provider's credentials, state availability (AltRx: not stated; WellMedr: all 50 states) and current pricing before you sign up — and note that compounded medications aren't FDA-approved.
Can I switch between AltRx and WellMedr?
Generally yes — neither locks you into a long contract, though the lowest prices often require a prepaid plan. Never stop or change a GLP-1 medication without talking to your clinician first.
Both programs are scored with the same independent methodology. We may earn a commission from either provider — it changes nothing about the scores or the verdict. Prices are advertised starting rates as of October 2026; confirm current pricing with each provider. Nothing here is medical advice.