bmiMD starts at $99/mo (all-in, includes medication); AltRx at $89/mo (all-in, includes medication). Both prescribe GLP-1 medication — bmiMD offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide, AltRx compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide. Here's how they compare on price, medications, support and transparency.
Bottom line: bmiMD wins
bmiMD wins on our rubric, 8.4/10 to 8.2/10. It leads most on transparency. Choose AltRx instead if you want the lower entry price — $89/mo vs $99/mo.
Round by round
We scored both programs on the four factors in our methodology — value, support, medications and transparency. bmiMD takes 1, AltRx takes 3. Here's how each shook out.
Value
What you get for the price — not just the lowest sticker. A premium program that includes FDA-approved medication, insurance help and real support can be good value. AltRx scores 9.4 to 9.0 — ahead.
Support
Real clinician access, coaching and follow-up — video visits and a care team score higher than async-only. AltRx scores 8.7 to 8.2 — ahead.
Medications
Medication options and legitimacy — FDA-approved branded (Wegovy, Zepbound) rates above compounded-only, and breadth and flexibility add points. AltRx scores 8.8 to 8.4 — ahead.
Transparency
How clearly and publicly pricing, terms and availability are stated — plus track record and any regulatory red flags. bmiMD scores 8.4 to 6.6 — clearly ahead.
Where they differ most
The clearest daylight is in transparency, where bmiMD leads 8.4 to 6.6 and support, where AltRx leads 8.7 to 8.2. On price, AltRx starts lower ($89 vs $99 per month).
Pricing: bmiMD vs AltRx
AltRx has the lower advertised starting price — $89/mo vs $99/mo for bmiMD. But read the fine print: bmiMD is all-in, includes medication and AltRx is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline. We unpack how these plans are structured in how much compounded semaglutide costs.
bmiMD: On 12-month plan; $109 (6-mo) / $119 (3-mo) / $129–$159 month-to-month (as of 2026, glp1picks.com). AltRx: The $89/mo promo (semaglutide; tirzepatide from $149/mo) ran through Sep 5, 2026 and has ended; current standard pricing is not clearly published — confirm at checkout (as of Sep 2026, altrx.com).
The specs, side by side
| bmiMD | AltRx | |
|---|---|---|
| Editor rating | 8.4/10 · Very good | 8.2/10 · Very good |
| Starting price | $99/mo | $89/mo |
| Pricing | All-in, includes medication | All-in, includes medication |
| Medications | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide |
| Medication form | Weekly injection | Weekly injection |
| Visit type | Telehealth consult + unlimited messaging | Async, video when needed |
| Insurance | Cash-pay | Cash-pay |
| Availability | 48 states (excl. LA, MS) | Not stated |
Which should you pick?
Common questions
Is bmiMD better than AltRx?
In our scoring bmiMD comes out ahead — 8.4/10 to 8.2/10, leading on transparency. It's our pick for most people; AltRx is the better choice if you want the lower entry price — $89/mo vs $99/mo.
Which is cheaper, bmiMD or AltRx?
AltRx has the lower advertised starting price — $89/mo vs $99/mo for bmiMD. But read the fine print: bmiMD is all-in, includes medication and AltRx is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline.
Do bmiMD and AltRx prescribe the same medications?
bmiMD offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (weekly injection); AltRx offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (weekly injection). On breadth of options, AltRx scores higher. Compounded GLP-1s aren't FDA-approved finished products, and availability shifts — confirm current options with each provider.
Which gives you more support, bmiMD or AltRx?
AltRx scores higher on support — real clinician access, coaching and follow-up. For visits, bmiMD is telehealth consult + unlimited messaging and AltRx is async, video when needed.
Are bmiMD and AltRx legit?
Both require a licensed clinician to review your intake before prescribing. Confirm each provider's credentials, state availability (bmiMD: 48 states (excl. la, ms); AltRx: not stated) and current pricing before you sign up — and note that compounded medications aren't FDA-approved.
Can I switch between bmiMD and AltRx?
Generally yes — neither locks you into a long contract, though the lowest prices often require a prepaid plan. Never stop or change a GLP-1 medication without talking to your clinician first.
Both programs are scored with the same independent methodology. We may earn a commission from either provider — it changes nothing about the scores or the verdict. Prices are advertised starting rates as of October 2026; confirm current pricing with each provider. Nothing here is medical advice.