embody starts at $69/mo (all-in, includes medication); Shed at $149/mo (all-in, includes medication). Both prescribe GLP-1 medication — embody offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide, Shed compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide. Here's how they compare on price, medications, support and transparency.
Bottom line: embody wins
It's a near-tie at 8.5/10 — embody takes it on the lower starting price. Shed is a close alternative if you prefer Shed — a full care team — md, dietitian and coach — behind a dose-tiered compounded plan.
Round by round
We scored both programs on the four factors in our methodology — value, support, medications and transparency. embody takes 2, Shed takes 2. Here's how each shook out.
Value
What you get for the price — not just the lowest sticker. A premium program that includes FDA-approved medication, insurance help and real support can be good value. embody scores 9.4 to 7.8 — clearly ahead.
Support
Real clinician access, coaching and follow-up — video visits and a care team score higher than async-only. Shed scores 9.0 to 8.7 — ahead.
Medications
Medication options and legitimacy — FDA-approved branded (Wegovy, Zepbound) rates above compounded-only, and breadth and flexibility add points. embody scores 9.2 to 9.0 — just ahead.
Transparency
How clearly and publicly pricing, terms and availability are stated — plus track record and any regulatory red flags. Shed scores 7.8 to 7.4 — ahead.
Where they differ most
The clearest daylight is in value, where embody leads 9.4 to 7.8 and transparency, where Shed leads 7.8 to 7.4. On price, embody starts lower ($69 vs $149 per month).
Pricing: embody vs Shed
embody has the lower advertised starting price — $69/mo vs $149/mo for Shed. But read the fine print: embody is all-in, includes medication and Shed is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline. We unpack how these plans are structured in how much compounded semaglutide costs.
embody: Promo starting rate; ~$299/mo at standard/maintenance dosing (as of Jul 2026, exploretreatments.com). Shed: Intro/platform rate; semaglutide injection commonly from $199/mo, dose-tiered; ~2-month minimum (as of Sep 2026, glpchart.com).
The specs, side by side
| embody | Shed | |
|---|---|---|
| Editor rating | 8.5/10 · Great | 8.5/10 · Great |
| Starting price | $69/mo | $149/mo |
| Pricing | All-in, includes medication | All-in, includes medication |
| Medications | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide |
| Medication form | Weekly injection or daily oral | Injection, drops or lozenge |
| Visit type | Clinician-reviewed telehealth | Async questionnaire |
| Insurance | Cash-pay (HSA/FSA) | Cash-pay |
| Availability | Not stated | All 50 states |
Which should you pick?
Choose Shed if…
You prefer Shed — a full care team — md, dietitian and coach — behind a dose-tiered compounded plan.
View Shed plans →Common questions
Is embody better than Shed?
They're line-ball on our rubric at 8.5/10, and embody edges it on the lower starting price. It's our pick for most people; Shed is the better choice if you prefer Shed — a full care team — md, dietitian and coach — behind a dose-tiered compounded plan.
Which is cheaper, embody or Shed?
embody has the lower advertised starting price — $69/mo vs $149/mo for Shed. But read the fine print: embody is all-in, includes medication and Shed is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline.
Do embody and Shed prescribe the same medications?
embody offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (weekly injection or daily oral); Shed offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (injection, drops or lozenge). On breadth of options, embody scores higher. Compounded GLP-1s aren't FDA-approved finished products, and availability shifts — confirm current options with each provider.
Which gives you more support, embody or Shed?
Shed scores higher on support — real clinician access, coaching and follow-up. For visits, embody is clinician-reviewed telehealth and Shed is async questionnaire.
Are embody and Shed legit?
Both require a licensed clinician to review your intake before prescribing. Confirm each provider's credentials, state availability (embody: not stated; Shed: all 50 states) and current pricing before you sign up — and note that compounded medications aren't FDA-approved.
Can I switch between embody and Shed?
Generally yes — neither locks you into a long contract, though the lowest prices often require a prepaid plan. Never stop or change a GLP-1 medication without talking to your clinician first.
Both programs are scored with the same independent methodology. We may earn a commission from either provider — it changes nothing about the scores or the verdict. Prices are advertised starting rates as of October 2026; confirm current pricing with each provider. Nothing here is medical advice.