ro starts at $39/mo (membership + medication (billed separately)); AltRx at $89/mo (all-in, includes medication). Both prescribe GLP-1 medication — ro offers wegovy, zepbound, ozempic & foundaya, AltRx compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide. Here's how they compare on price, medications, support and transparency.
Bottom line: ro wins
ro wins on our rubric, 9.1/10 to 8.2/10. It leads most on transparency. Choose AltRx instead if you want the lowest possible entry cost.
Round by round
We scored both programs on the four factors in our methodology — value, support, medications and transparency. ro takes 3, AltRx takes 1. Here's how each shook out.
Value
What you get for the price — not just the lowest sticker. A premium program that includes FDA-approved medication, insurance help and real support can be good value. AltRx scores 9.4 to 8.2 — clearly ahead.
Support
Real clinician access, coaching and follow-up — video visits and a care team score higher than async-only. ro scores 9.0 to 8.7 — ahead.
Medications
Medication options and legitimacy — FDA-approved branded (Wegovy, Zepbound) rates above compounded-only, and breadth and flexibility add points. ro scores 9.3 to 8.8 — ahead.
Transparency
How clearly and publicly pricing, terms and availability are stated — plus track record and any regulatory red flags. ro scores 9.5 to 6.6 — clearly ahead.
Where they differ most
The clearest daylight is in transparency, where ro leads 9.5 to 6.6 and value, where AltRx leads 9.4 to 8.2. On price, ro starts lower ($39 vs $89 per month).
Pricing: ro vs AltRx
ro has the lower advertised starting price — $39/mo vs $89/mo for AltRx. But read the fine print: ro is membership + medication (billed separately) and AltRx is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline. We unpack how these plans are structured in how much compounded semaglutide costs.
ro: Start for $39 (first month), then $149/mo — or save up to 50% on an annual plan (~$74/mo); branded medication billed separately from $149/mo, and insurance can bring covered members far lower (as of Sep 2026, ro.co). AltRx: Promo starting rate (semaglutide); tirzepatide from $149/mo; post-promo pricing undisclosed (as of Sep 2026, altrx.com).
The specs, side by side
| ro | AltRx | |
|---|---|---|
| Editor rating | 9.1/10 · Excellent | 8.2/10 · Very good |
| Starting price | $39/mo | $89/mo |
| Pricing | Membership + medication (billed separately) | All-in, includes medication |
| Medications | Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic & Foundaya | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide |
| Medication form | Oral pill or injection pen | Weekly injection |
| Visit type | Async + optional video | Async, video when needed |
| Insurance | Dedicated insurance concierge | Cash-pay |
| Availability | Nationwide | Not stated |
Which should you pick?
Common questions
Is ro better than AltRx?
In our scoring ro comes out ahead — 9.1/10 to 8.2/10, leading on transparency. It's our pick for most people; AltRx is the better choice if you want the lowest possible entry cost.
Which is cheaper, ro or AltRx?
ro has the lower advertised starting price — $39/mo vs $89/mo for AltRx. But read the fine print: ro is membership + medication (billed separately) and AltRx is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline.
Do ro and AltRx prescribe the same medications?
ro offers wegovy, zepbound, ozempic & foundaya (oral pill or injection pen); AltRx offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (weekly injection). On breadth of options, ro scores higher. Compounded GLP-1s aren't FDA-approved finished products, and availability shifts — confirm current options with each provider.
Which gives you more support, ro or AltRx?
ro scores higher on support — real clinician access, coaching and follow-up. For visits, ro is async + optional video and AltRx is async, video when needed.
Are ro and AltRx legit?
Both require a licensed clinician to review your intake before prescribing. Confirm each provider's credentials, state availability (ro: nationwide; AltRx: not stated) and current pricing before you sign up — and note that compounded medications aren't FDA-approved.
Can I switch between ro and AltRx?
Generally yes — neither locks you into a long contract, though the lowest prices often require a prepaid plan. Never stop or change a GLP-1 medication without talking to your clinician first.
Both programs are scored with the same independent methodology. We may earn a commission from either provider — it changes nothing about the scores or the verdict. Prices are advertised starting rates as of September 2026; confirm current pricing with each provider. Nothing here is medical advice.