Shed starts at $149/mo (all-in, includes medication); AltRx at $89/mo (all-in, includes medication). Both prescribe GLP-1 medication — Shed offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide, AltRx compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide. Here's how they compare on price, medications, support and transparency.
Bottom line: Shed wins
Shed wins on our rubric, 8.5/10 to 8.2/10. It leads most on transparency. Choose AltRx instead if you want the lower entry price — $89/mo vs $149/mo.
Round by round
We scored both programs on the four factors in our methodology — value, support, medications and transparency. Shed takes 3, AltRx takes 1. Here's how each shook out.
Value
What you get for the price — not just the lowest sticker. A premium program that includes FDA-approved medication, insurance help and real support can be good value. AltRx scores 9.4 to 7.8 — clearly ahead.
Support
Real clinician access, coaching and follow-up — video visits and a care team score higher than async-only. Shed scores 9.0 to 8.7 — ahead.
Medications
Medication options and legitimacy — FDA-approved branded (Wegovy, Zepbound) rates above compounded-only, and breadth and flexibility add points. Shed scores 9.0 to 8.8 — just ahead.
Transparency
How clearly and publicly pricing, terms and availability are stated — plus track record and any regulatory red flags. Shed scores 7.8 to 6.6 — clearly ahead.
Where they differ most
The clearest daylight is in value, where AltRx leads 9.4 to 7.8 and transparency, where Shed leads 7.8 to 6.6. On price, AltRx starts lower ($89 vs $149 per month).
Pricing: Shed vs AltRx
AltRx has the lower advertised starting price — $89/mo vs $149/mo for Shed. But read the fine print: Shed is all-in, includes medication and AltRx is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline. We unpack how these plans are structured in how much compounded semaglutide costs.
Shed: Intro/platform rate; semaglutide injection commonly from $199/mo, dose-tiered; ~2-month minimum (as of Sep 2026, glpchart.com). AltRx: The $89/mo promo (semaglutide; tirzepatide from $149/mo) ran through Sep 5, 2026 and has ended; current standard pricing is not clearly published — confirm at checkout (as of Sep 2026, altrx.com).
The specs, side by side
| Shed | AltRx | |
|---|---|---|
| Editor rating | 8.5/10 · Great | 8.2/10 · Very good |
| Starting price | $149/mo | $89/mo |
| Pricing | All-in, includes medication | All-in, includes medication |
| Medications | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide | Compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide |
| Medication form | Injection, drops or lozenge | Weekly injection |
| Visit type | Async questionnaire | Async, video when needed |
| Insurance | Cash-pay | Cash-pay |
| Availability | All 50 states | Not stated |
Which should you pick?
Common questions
Is Shed better than AltRx?
In our scoring Shed comes out ahead — 8.5/10 to 8.2/10, leading on transparency. It's our pick for most people; AltRx is the better choice if you want the lower entry price — $89/mo vs $149/mo.
Which is cheaper, Shed or AltRx?
AltRx has the lower advertised starting price — $89/mo vs $149/mo for Shed. But read the fine print: Shed is all-in, includes medication and AltRx is all-in, includes medication, and the cheapest rates often need a prepaid multi-month plan — so compare the real all-in cost at your maintenance dose, not the headline.
Do Shed and AltRx prescribe the same medications?
Shed offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (injection, drops or lozenge); AltRx offers compounded semaglutide & tirzepatide (weekly injection). On breadth of options, Shed scores higher. Compounded GLP-1s aren't FDA-approved finished products, and availability shifts — confirm current options with each provider.
Which gives you more support, Shed or AltRx?
Shed scores higher on support — real clinician access, coaching and follow-up. For visits, Shed is async questionnaire and AltRx is async, video when needed.
Are Shed and AltRx legit?
Both require a licensed clinician to review your intake before prescribing. Confirm each provider's credentials, state availability (Shed: all 50 states; AltRx: not stated) and current pricing before you sign up — and note that compounded medications aren't FDA-approved.
Can I switch between Shed and AltRx?
Generally yes — neither locks you into a long contract, though the lowest prices often require a prepaid plan. Never stop or change a GLP-1 medication without talking to your clinician first.
Both programs are scored with the same independent methodology. We may earn a commission from either provider — it changes nothing about the scores or the verdict. Prices are advertised starting rates as of October 2026; confirm current pricing with each provider. Nothing here is medical advice.